A & E / RSGC Life

The Walking Shadow

macbeth-performance-task-thoburn

Art by Elliot Thoburn

(a found poem)

By Charlie Botterell

And I was thinking to myself,
This could be heaven or hell
I go, the bell invites me.
Hear it not, for it is a knell
That summons thee to heaven or to hell.
Hail to the king, hail to the one.
Kneel to the crown, stand in the sun.

Never feared for anything
Never shamed but never free
The eye wink at the hand; yet let that be,
Which the eye fears, when it is done, to see.

Listening to their fear, I could not say,
For now I smell the rain, and with it pain,
And it’s headed my way.
And, when the levee breaks
I’ll have no place to stay.

You’re only young but you’re gonna die,
I won’t take no prisoners won’t spare no lives
Is there scarce ask’d for who,
And good men’s lives.

Life’s but a walking shadow, a poor player
That struts and frets his hour upon the stage
Half my life’s in books’ written page
Live and learn from fool and sage
You know it’s true,
All things come back to you.

I’ve done my sentence
But committed no crime.
And mistakes,
I’ve made a few.
But goodness dare not check thee,
So wear thou thy wrongs.

Now it’s too late you realized,
To the amazement of mine eyes,
Now there’s no one can sympathize,
Now that the smile has left your eyes.

When it’s all said and done,
The real work has just begun
When the hurlyburly’s done,
When the battle’s lost and won.

I’ve taken my bows
And my curtain calls.
And like good men,
Bestride our downfall.

Found Poetry from:
Shakespeare’s Macbeth
Asia
Queen
Aerosmith
AC/DC
Soul Asylum
Led Zeppelin
Avenged Sevenfold
The Eagles

Leave a Reply

